The red apple

Dreams of reality

I can’t help but feel like there’s a certain way things are supposed to be, and we are farther from it now than we were ever supposed to be. From the way we live, the food we eat, the things we do to pass our time, to the things that we live for; I can’t help but to feel like they’ve all become a shadow of what it’s meant to be. I get the feeling that we’re only living a reflection, an oddity of what it once was, and should be.

I had a dream last night. It was a good dream. I woke up so happy, like my world was finally made right, and in the cold gray hours of morning, I slowly realized that it was only a dream, and that it never happened. Man, the feeling of crashing from a dream like that is worse than a thousand deaths.

But dreams like that make me realize, make me think. Is this what it’s about? Is this all that we were meant for? Because in dreams, we see what could have been, and isn’t. In dreams, we touch the impossible, and for a moment, we make it real. A dream like that makes me realize that the world we live in has become a lie. Where we look each other in the eyes, but see nothing at all. I realized everything around me was so manufactured, fake. Where we are enslaved by complacency, corrupted by laziness, bribed by stupidity. I realized through a dream, a fabrication of what is not real, that our world was destined for so much more, because once upon a time, we were on the steps towards greatness.

Perhaps one night you’ll go to your room, and before climbing into bed, you think about what you might dream that night. You forget tomorrow and let your anxieties mind themselves. For that night, You’ll chase your dreams. Perhaps we’ll want more from life than a stifled existence. Maybe our dreams will talk to us, and what we hear will be exhilarating, invigorating, life giving, passion burning. Maybe then, you will wake up and feel like things are a little better, like a couple wrongs have been made right. When we look at each other as more important than ourselves, and our relationships are the most valuable assets. When we stop making decisions that mutilate our affections for each other. When I look at you, and finally see what color your eyes are.

I had a dream last night, and you were in it. Things were right. It was a dream that made me wish I never woke up.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

